We Learn Best From People

http://kathycassidy.com/2013/03/12/you-cant-teach-literacy-with-skype-can-you/

I have a few grade two students in my classroom this year for the first time in half a dozen years. Since the last time I had a grade one/two split, the curriculum has changed. Naturally, I have spent time reading through the grade two curriculum. But when I have specific questions about what my seven year olds need to know, I don’t usually try to find the answer in the curriculum. I just walk across the hall and ask the grade two teacher. She explains it well and gives me the practical information that I need. She is also likely to add a few things I had never thought to ask that will help me to be a better teacher of that concept. Learning from her is much richer than the answer in the curriculum guide.

Leave a Reply

